August 10, 2022

Ohsweken Speedway Race Report – July 15, 2022

OHSWEKEN, Ont. (July 15, 2022) – Slack Lumber presented a Friday night of excitement at Ohsweken Speedway on July 15; Josh Hansen, Lucas Smith, Ryan Beagle and Tyler Lafantaisie left the night with A-Main wins as fans dressed up and were treated to Halloween festivities in July.

Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars
Glenn Styres – who raced earlier in the day in the NASCAR Pinty’s Series race in Toronto – took pole position, while Liam Martin started second in the 20-lap 360 Sprint Car A-Main. Josh Hansen quickly rounded the leaders after starting third while Nick Sheridan battled for second and put pressure on Hansen as they both chased for their first career wins. A warning flag went out with four laps to go, setting up an exciting finish with Hansen and Sheridan throwing slides at each other. Hansen didn’t fully clear Sheridan on one of the attempts and clipped him, sending Sheridan spinning at turn four and ending any momentum for the win. Hansen took his first career 360 Sprint Car win and became the sixth different driver in six races to win this season. Martin was second, Mitch Brown third, Jacob Dykstra fourth and Mikey Kruchka fifth. Even though Ryan Turner did not finish in the top five, he will still remain the division leader, 18 points ahead of his brother Cory Turner.

Strickland Crate Race Cars
Adrian Stahle and Steven Beckett led the 28 riders to the start of their 20-lap Crate Sprint A-Main event. Modified star Mike Bowman quickly took the lead, showing that he is becoming very comfortable with his new racing discipline. Last week’s winner Lucas Smith began to chip away at Bowman’s lead; Bowman bravely defended his lead while navigating traffic, but it wasn’t enough for the Crate Sprint rookie as Smith rounded him with nine laps to go. The final warning of the evening came out with eight laps to go, bringing everyone back for a sprint to the finish. Smith’s big restart eventually saw him win the race by more than a half outright.

Bowman settled for second place, while Eric Gledhill finished third on the podium. Rounding out the top five, Jesse Costa and Brett Stratford finished fourth and fifth. Smith’s second straight win helped him stay the division leader, now 15 points ahead of Gledhill.

Middleport Clockwork Thunder Stocks
Gofast Teeple and Kyle Andress led the green-flag field of 27 riders to start the 20-lap Thunder Stock A-Main. Mark Fawcett immediately became the driver to beat by quickly taking the lead on the first lap from the fourth row. Poleman Teeple suffered a puncture after contact with Ryan Berry, ending his race. Two quick warnings reset the field and allowed Dave Bailey to capitalize on restarts and break into the top five. Bailey pushed a bit too hard though and clipped the wall, neutralizing his push for the lead. Surprisingly, it was Ryan Beagle who started to fight for the lead while sporting major body damage.

It became clear that the damage wasn’t slowing him down as he took the lead and rode to his first win of the season. Fawcett came awfully close to his first win at Ohsweken but had to settle for second, while Bailey finished third and maintained his season-opening top-five streak. Christopher Hale and Ron Loggie complete the top five. Bailey remains the division points leader, ahead of Hale by 34 points.

HRW Automotive Mini Stocks
The front row of the grid featured Tim Nuell and Mike Giberson to start the 15-lap Mini Stock A-Main. The saying “rubbing is racing” was in full effect for the first three laps as the drivers battled for position. Just like last week, Wade Thorne took the lead until a warning was issued due to mechanical issues for Jason Tolton. It looked like Thorne had no one to challenge him for the rest of the race, but Tyler Lafantaisie caught up and took the lead like he has done so many times this season. Lafantaisie earned her fifth victory of the season and her sixth consecutive top five finish.

Ryan Hillar finished second, while Matt Nuell completed the podium. The top five finished with Thorne and Mike Sarantakos respectively. Lafantaisie left the evening with the grand prize of $1,000 and a 78-point lead over Nick Erskine.

Up Next at Ohsweken Speedway
Core-Mark presents Wall of Fame and Fan Appreciation Night on July 22 with Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars, Strickland’s Crate Sprint Cars, Middleport Mechanical Thunder Stocks and HRW Automotive Mini Stocks. Visit for more information.

About Ohsweken Speedway: Opened in 1996, Ohsweken Speedway is a motorsports complex and events center featuring a 3/8 mile oval dirt auto racing track and a 1/6 oval dirt micro sprint and kart track mile. The facility is owned by the Styres family and is located in the village of Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada. Ohsweken’s weekly Friday Night Excitement racing schedule runs from May through September each year, featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Crate Sprint Cars, Thunder Stocks and Mini Stocks, while the facility also hosts weekly Micro Sprint and Karting on Thursday evening. Several major events highlight the annual calendar, including the track’s signature event – the Canadian National Speed ​​Car Championships.

By Brent Otchere